Chappelow Cup 2019-20











Match abandoned.   





Match abandoned.





Match played at Lance Hutchinson Oval, Canterbury, 14th March, 2020.

Match Abandoned.  Toss: Macquarie University.  Captain: Syed Naqvi


     Burwood Briars Gold  1-82          D. Sharma  1/11




   We were the inaugural winners of the Chappelow Cup, a forty-over limited over competition played on Sundays. After beginning the season with two losses, the team quickly rallied to win sixteen of its next eighteen decided games and go into the final series as the top-seeded team, which was to prove very decisive. The batting was highlighted by Sameer Amin with an amazing season aggregate of 580 runs. Kumail Zaidi also had an excellent season with 356 runs. Captain Syed Osama Naqvi led the way with the bowling with 34 wickets at 9.56 apiece.This included Macquarie's all-time best individual bowling performance, an incredible 9-17 against Balmain-South Sydney, with six victims bowled and two leg before wicket. Haroon Mukhtar was also a force with 30 wickets at 8.57. Salmon Javed with 26 wickets at 9.19 meant that Macquarie had an excellent bowling attack.

   Very little play was possible in the final series due to very inclement weather and the arrival of the Covid virus. In the qualifying final Burwood Briars Gold had lost only one wicket but had used 25 overs. Then the rains came. This was the reward for a consistently successful season and the advantage of winning as minor premiers.